

Reproductive Health Care Reform Working Group

29 July 2019

Joint Statement:

MPs Unite Behind Reproductive Health Care Reform Bill

The Reproductive Health Care Reform Bill 2019, a law to bring NSW into line with other states and territories by regulating the termination of pregnancies as a medical procedure and decriminalising abortions, will be co-sponsored by MPs across NSW and the parliament.

This bill has been drafted by a working group of members including Trevor Khan MLC, Penny Sharpe MLC, Jo Haylen MP the Member for Summer Hill, and Alex Greenwich MP the Member for Sydney. The Minister for Health, Brad Hazzard MP, provided the working group with oversight and supports the legislation.

In welcoming the co-sponsors the working group said:

"Members who represent various political parties and communities across NSW have come together to ensure women in NSW can get access to safe and legal abortions, and that doctors have the legal certainty they have long asked for".

"To mark the significance of the *Reproductive Health Care Reform Bill 2019*, this bill will be the first co-sponsored legislation ever introduced into the NSW Legislative Assembly, and has more co-sponsors than any other piece of legislation in the history of the NSW parliament".

The full list of co-sponsors of the Reproductive Health Care Reform Bill 2019 are:

- 1. The Hon Shelley Hancock MP (Liberal Party), Minister for Local Government and Member for the South Coast
- 2. Trish Doyle MP (Labor Party), the Shadow Minister for Women and Member for the Blue Mountains
- 3. The Hon Brad Hazzard MP (Liberal Party), Health Minister and Member for Wakefield
- 4. Ryan Park (Labor Party), Shadow Minister for Health and Member for Kiera
- 5. Jenny Leong MP (Greens), Greens spokesperson for Women's Rights and Member for Newtown
- 6. The Hon Leslie Williams MP (National Party), Deputy Speaker and Member for Port Macquarie
- 7. The Hon Penny Sharpe MLC (Labor Party), Shadow Minister for Family and Community Services, and Shadow Minister for Disability Inclusion
- 8. Alex Greenwich MP (Independent), Member for Sydney
- 9. The Hon Trevor Khan MLC (National Party), Deputy President of Legislative Council



Reproductive Health Care Reform Working Group

- 10. Abigail Boyd MLC (Greens), Greens spokesperson for Women's Equity and Economic Justice
- 11. Jo Haylen MP (Labor Party), Shadow Minister for Active Transport, Shadow Minister for Seniors and Volunteers, Shadow Minister for the Cost of Living, and the Member for Summer Hill
- 12. Jenny Aitchison MP (Labor Party), Shadow Minister for Shadow Minister for Primary Industries, Shadow Minister for Investment and Tourism, Shadow Minister for Medical Research and the Member for Maitland
- 13. Felicity Wilson MP (Liberal Party), Member for North Sydney
- 14. Greg Piper MP (Independent), Member for Lake Macquarie
- 15. The Hon Emma Hurst MLC (Animal Justice Party)

Please seek comment directly from individual co-sponsors. For assistance contact Hannah Craft on 0423 377 965.